Game-Labs Forum

The terrible accuracy before late game might be quite realistic

goduranus

I am not an expert on naval equipment, but when was ship mounted gun stabilizer invented? I imagine trying to hit a 10m tall ship's side would be quite hard at 3km when the ship is rocking with the waves, without some sort of stabilization. For reference that is the thickness of a ~3mm line at 1 meter from your eye, I've been on a freighter once, and I'm pretty sure the ship rocked around a lot of more than that amount.

11 hours ago, goduranus said:

I am not an expert on naval equipment, but when was ship mounted gun stabilizer invented? I imagine trying to hit a 10m tall ship's side would be quite hard at 3km when the ship is rocking with the waves, without some sort of stabilization. For reference that is the thickness of a ~3mm line at 1 meter from your eye, I've been on a freighter once, and I'm pretty sure the ship rocked around a lot of more than that amount.

ROFLed... sorry. U probably compare an inflatable boat with an 50k long-tons monster with a 5 degrees roll once in a 5 minutes.

260px-Ship_stabilizing_gyroscopes_USS_He

Based upon the historical accounts, normal or average battle between capital ships:

Spanish American War <5% hit rate, ranges under 3k

WWI <15% hit rate, ranges between 7.5-10k

WWII <25% hit rate, ranges 15-25k

Modern <50% hit rate, ranges 30k+

Edited by Pedroig

hit rate data from Campell’s tome ‘Jutland’. It has just emerged with the following information on heavy calibre shooting:

Germany
1st Scout Group - 1,670 shots, 65 hits (3.89% hit rate),
HSF Battleships - 1,900 shots, 45 hits (2.37% hit rate),
Total - 3,570 shots fired, 110 hits (3.08% hit rate).
(excludes shots fired at HMS Black Prince)

Great Britain
1st & 2nd BCS - 1,469 shots, 21 hits (1.43% hit rate),
3rd BCS - 373 shots, 16 hits (4.29% hit rate),
5th BS - 1,099 shots, 29 hits (2.64% hit rate),
Rest of GF - 1,593 shots, 57 hits (3.58% hit rate),