Game-Labs Forum

New to game, advice wanted

As Title states, im New to the game, its currently downloading and i will be joining the US Server??, as i saw in the reviews for this, you choose a country/ faction to play for, Are all countries equal when starting out? is there advantage or disadvantages to one country over another towards end game? what should i be aiming for as a new player, im not new to MMO's etc so i understand clan based games, so any help and advice is welcomed.

First off, there is a whole mess of inter-faction nonsense that's been going on for years.  It's kind of like jumping into 1913 Europe and saying, "What nation should I get citizenship in?"  Every faction has its own background, big names, little names, people who follow the intent of the rules very scrupulously, people who will test every boundary they can.

You can choose whichever server, though more people tend to play on the EU server.  Pings don't matter nearly as much as in other games, 1. due to the slower pace of sailing and 2. due to everything being done server side.

I would suggest you pick a flag you want to fly under, and just jump in.

• Like 4

Powderhorn is correct.  You are basically jumping into a mess like 1913 Europe when it comes to diplomacy, factions, alliances, grudges, names, etc.

My suggestions are: 

Pick a nation you want to sail for, one that will play on your imaginations and inspire you.  Say, for example, you are really big into Hornblower or Master and Commander, pick Britain.  Or maybe you are really interested in Spanish naval history, so you pick Spain.  Or you are into Pirates of the Caribbean or Black Flag, pick Pirates.  Whatever nation inspires you, pick that, whether it is the Americans, the British, the Danes, the Dutch, the French, the Pirates, the Spanish, or the Swedes.