Game-Labs Forum

Some Newbie Questions

Hi guys, i am new to Naval Action and although I don't have access to the game yet, would like to ask some questions so I can gain a better understanding of the level of detail and complexity of the game.

1. To what level can sails and yards be controlled. Can you unfurl and furl any individual sail and can you control individual braces, halyards and sheets? Can you reef? Can you rig royals or studdingsails?

2. Can you anchor?

3. In the event of a demasting, can you jury rig a temporary mast?

4. Can you trim a ship using ballast?

5. Is fouling modelled on non copper bottom ships?

6. Can you sail under a false colour to deceive your opponent?

7. How does the damage model work? It is a probability based system or does the area that the ball hits receive damage I.e to damage the rudder, the rudder must be hit a ball.

Apologies for these rather basic questions but I am really interested in this game and want to understand it a bit better.

Thanks in advance,

Jacks

• Like 1

1. You can not control individual sails, you can change between 0 to 100% sails in steps of 20% and you can depower the sails in between masts and the most fore sails(dont remember what they are called)

2. stand still, yes but not specifically anchor

3.no

4. no

5. no

6. no

7. it depends on where the ball hits, penetration and internal modules.

4. There is a module called ballast. It represents optimal ballast configuration. It is very simplified.

5. Kind of. It is simplified. Ships without copper plating are in general slower. So it is like they have a fouled bottom while copper plated ships have differing qualities. Exceptional copper plating is a simplified version of always having clean copper.

Thanks for the quick replies!

Another question I forgot to ask was whether or not yards and lines can break or snap if you push the ship too hard with too much canvas for the weather.

Thanks again,

Jacks

at the moment no, in the future, maybe