Game-Labs Forum

Stacking Infantry/Artillery Unrealistic

Pandemonium

Didn't get much traction on this via hijacking other posts, so thought I'd start a thread here to see if anyone bites. First of all, love the game. Got about 450 hrs playing through Union and CSA. I think it's one of the best mil RTS games I've played at the tactical level in quite some time.  Thank you for the team developing it.

One thing I've been reading a lot on is tactics and how to game the system to win/beat the challenge of the AI. "Stacking" units and having artillery blow canister rounds behind your lines, etc...I just find this silly. Is it allowable from a development perspective due to the unit/terrain mismatch of space, or allowed because at the macro level, units are integrating the cannon into their lines? Or stacking three brigades deep and all of them firing through one another?

I'm a 20 year Army veteran and former Civil War reenactor, so my bias here is pretty hard.

Thoughts? "Shuddup Pandemonium, get over it." or "We are fixing that in the next release to make it more realistic and A LOT harder to play with current numbers.."

• Like 1

It's a bit cheezy that you can literally stack a dozen brigades on top of each other by using the hold command. There should be a limit to how many you can stack at once. This was partially fixed with the advent of the blocking function, but it only kicks in for brigades behind the front line. 

I'm all ears for suggestions. 

• Like 1

I think you shouldn't be able to "stack" more than two infantry.   And you shouldn't be able to "stack" artillery at all.

The "stacking" should come with a distance limitation, per the laws of physics, and the universe, you cannot put two items in the same space, so theoretically, we should not be able to "stack" in game.