Game-Labs Forum

Nautical miles traveled at sea in the game

Great game guys!!

Don't know if this has been discussed already but, I would like to see a nautical mile counter/trip counter next to the "time at sea" counter?  Navigation would be improved at sea and, if planning a route, we would know when we are getting near to our destination.

It could be reset each time you entered port.

thx

• Like 1

That does sound like a good idea! :) It would help out with navigation a lot, I have a lot of experience with missing the island that I am heading for and this would be very useful as you could right your mistake before you have gone miles past.

Edited by Dom

Surely this will be part of the log book, when it comes. As the name says, the log book was to record the speed readings taken with the chip log/ ship log. Since they where taken at regular intervals the distance made good through water could easily be calculated. This actually was/ is one of the most important tools of naviagtion.

To calculate ETA however we would need to know the level of time compression and by how much the game world is smaller compared to the actual world.

Surely this will be part of the log book, when it comes. As the name says, the log book was to record the speed readings taken with the chip log/ ship log. Since they where taken at regular intervals the distance made good through water could easily be calculated. This actually was/ is one of the most important tools of naviagtion.

To calculate ETA however we would need to know the level of time compression and by how much the game world is smaller compared to the actual world.

A mileage counter is just that, a miles traveled counter.  Time compression is not completely relevant in this instance.  If you plan your route, you will know how many miles the trip is before you start.  When you are close to that many miles, time compression or not, if no land is sighted it's time to re-evaluate your navigation.