Game-Labs Forum

Cold Harbor Deployments from Day to Day

REALLY frustrating to go from day 2 at Cold Harbor to day 3, and have all your units auto-scrambled in no particular manner whatsoever to prepare for the Union assault.

Why? Shouldn't be a rather easy fix to keep my units in the general formations they were in from day to day?

Sorry for being pouty.

• Like 1

Thing is you can end a battle in the middle of a melee, a rout, with AI units in your rear. There aren't always static battle lines. What happens then? Do you just pop right back up exactly where you left off with literally everything in the exact same place? 

I'm not sure I understand your logic, relevant to my issue.  ALL of my units have been changed, and across the battle-map, not just a few randomn moves. And I didn't have any routed units, or AI in my rear. Come on, I've been a veteran long enough to realize battle lines are not static.

The day ends, my units may be fighting or mopping up, but units likely won't be completely and haphazardly thrown about the lines in a completely different arrangement.  Some units may move to the rear, others may be shifted along the line, but not a complete changeover.

I -THINK- it might be reverting back to the AI's initial emplacement of my Corps...I checked again after a few saves to see how it goes.

EDIT - Example - My Supply wagon I specifically deployed to the Left Flank near the woods, but on the next day, it was on the center battle map.

Edited by Pandemonium
Gave example.

Pandemonium's comments have merit. 

He is not the only person who is frustrated when  you end a day with a well formed line of battle with your artillery well sited, and at dawn the next day units are randomly reassigned. 

It won't change, that's how the game is built, but I feel your pain. 

• Like 1