Game-Labs Forum

Campaign 1920 Germany- what am I doing wrong?

I just cant win... I managed victory for  Britain 1890 and Germany 1890, 1900, and 1910, but I have tried maybe 6-8  G1920 campaigns and they all fail, mostly from a lack of funds...  Last game the British blockaded me on the FIRST TURN and the war was over by may 1921... I've tried using only computer generated ships, thinking that maybe I'm just a lousy architect. but it made no difference.  I sink twice as many tons and crews, but still lose.

build_2021_12_22_21_50_54_685.thumb.jpg.acd674e2ac8d40da01c187819cf07d20.jpg

My guess is your not supposed to be able to win the 1920 German campaign if it starts in an at war condition.  I mean, it should be unwinnable if historical starting conditions are used.  You are basically starting a war as an already defeated naval power with a wrecked economy.  I’d just edit the files to get the 1930 start as the whole unlocking thing is stupid.

lol... I suppose you are correct from a real historical perspective, but in `my` world Germany kicked England's butt in 1919 and received several hundred millions in reparations... 

anyway, I made this post in regards to game playability/enjoyment, as I've noticed that all enemy crews start as fully trained yet my crews never rise above cadets, even after YEARS of combat.  No matter how many transports I sink in an actual battle, it does not change the outcome of the campaign... 

It is actually very easy just build 10 BBs and keep 3 of them in sea combat role, if you have trouble with money just lower reserch to nothing and crew training to almost 0, from then on build 1-3 smaller ships a year max. Current meta makes sure you cannot win any later campaign with smaller ships. If you are bloced then you have 0% chance of wining becouse you cannot force engagment with the one blocking you. On the other hand BBs power projection is so big that even if enemy have 4x or 5x ships he will most likly be unable to do so :)