Game-Labs Forum

Call to focus test "ships turning in circles" bug

Hangar18

Hey guys we all know about the bug where ships turn in circles at this point, but I think I noticed when and why it happens. However I'm just one guy, so some help trying to reproduce this bug would be appreciated. Especially those who enjoy the earlier time frames, which I have little experience with.

It seems to happen when ships think their spacing is off. So for instance when in formation and changing from tight to loose, the gap between ships needs to grow, and so the ai wants the ships to turn out to create that space, when that turn is initiated, it creates an issue for the ship behind it because now those are also too close.

The lead ship seems to want to correct the error by driving back towards the ships that have already turned out. But it's also at the same time trying to return to it's course whenever it finishes a loop. If it loops back, then the gap could be too close, which causes the ship behind it to redo it's loop, where the process starts over 

I suspect this happens with ships of a higher speed more often because the fastest way to fix the gap would be to turn out, along with the speed bled in turns, which could cause the second ship in line to become to close. Slower ships see that it would take them forever and so they just attempt to slow down.

This could be why large formations tend to explode when the game starts too.

Try slow, and fast ships, changing from tight to loose formation. Separately try turning hard enough to bleed (possibly tightening the formation at the same time).

Try to note mobility stats.

Top speed, decel, Accel, turn rate, turn radius, so on

Edited by Hangar18
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

2 hours ago, draconins said:

I would test this on weekend, however I rarely changing from tight to loose or vice versa. And I can see this happen without changing tight to loose, and often this is on a "detached" ship, does not always to be in formation.