Game-Labs Forum

Overall, I think y'all have done a good job of modeling how sailing works, better than many games, but I think there a few steps that likely wouldn't be terribly cumbersome that could make it even better.

I'll keep my explanation short at the moment and if there is interest, I can go on a greater length. I'm a professional sailor who works on boats of the sort modeled by your game, so I have a good feel for how this all works in reality. I might find it gets better as I move on the bigger ships in game, but so far I've felt some elements of sail handling that have been a bit lacking. In the game I've sailed a Cutter, the Lynx, a Pickle briefly, a Privateer, and a Brig. In reality I've sailed the actual Lynx, brigs, brigantines, and tops'l schooners.

The element I'd suggest you add is that of center of effort (CoE). I'll simplify it to how it relates to turning. The CoE is roughly the geometric center of one's sail plan averaged out. It is essentially the point at which the wind is pushing the boat sideways, and as you change your sail plan, the CoE moves forward or aft on the boat (up and down too, but that is a different aspect.) This matters when you compare it to the Center of Lateral Resistance (CLR) which does not move much, and is essentially the pivot point of the boat, generally roughly in the center, though not quite.