Game-Labs Forum

Antietam (Union campaign): Dealing with weapons shortage and allocating resources between phases

drhanson

I have two related questions that require a little explanation:  I’m new to the game, in my first campaign (“colonel” level, Union).  I thought I was in good shape going into the main battle of Antietam but 2 surprises ruined my plan.  First surprise: the game forces me to approach the battle in the same disjointed manner as McClellan did.  I thought I could distribute resources roughly evenly between my anticipated 3 full corps and a ½ strength 4th corps, and then shift units to other portions of the field as needed once the battle starts. But now I realize I have to decide in advance how to distribute resources between the three main areas of the field.

The much more important surprise was that I ran out of available infantry weapons to build the size of army I intended to field.  I can raise my organization level to 8, giving me 4 corps of up to 20 bgdes each.  I already have more than enough units for 2 full 20-unit corps, including 26 infantry brigades (9 two-star level and 16 one-star).  My plan was to rebuild my current infantry units to their 2,500-man levels after Crampton’s Gap and South Mountain, move up to organizational level 8 to give me the 4th corps, and create enough 2,000 to 2,500-man units of rookie melee fodder to give me 3 full attack corps and a small 4th reinforcement corps of maybe 8-12 brigades of various types.