Game-Labs Forum

Naval gun reloads and other stats

Attached is an overview of reload times for all the naval guns I have manged to get my hands on in finished British and United States campaigns. Often times the reload times spike for at least one gun in the series, but these spikes are also not consistent with a single poundage. Something similar is going on with the prices, but since my campaigns are on varying difficulty levels I can't fully compare them yet.

Since I am by no means an expert on naval guns I must ask, are these reload discrepancies intended or are they errors?

UA Reload times.png

• Like 4
  • Thanks 1

Allright, reload rates seem fixed across the board, but there are still a couple of prices that seem a bit off. Based on an Easy/Easy British campaign with max stats for discount etc. the 32pdr Woolwich costs 338, compared to to the Woolwich 24pdr costing 394 and the 42pdr costing 717. The 42pdr Armstrong costs 406 compared to the 32pdr's 424 and the 24pdr's 394. The Blomefield 18pdr costs 211 compared to the 12pdr's 237 and the 24pdr's 315.

Other than that the 32pdr French Re-Borded costs 315, roughly comparable to the same poundage Borgard (312) and very much on the low end price wise for the 32pdr guns, while the 42 pdr French Re-Bored costs 1095, making it the most expensive gun I have found and thus the most expensive of the 42pdr guns.

1574008670_Prices(BasedonalowdifficultyBritishcampaignwithmaxdiscountstat)afterupdate.thumb.png.04b934b5bb4c3d1017be2d6c64a493a0.png

• Like 1

The difference should not be linear.  People have a tendency to think that the increase in lbs of shot should be proportionate, but naval guns still have different calibers (barrel length proportinate to diameter of barrel).  Barrel diameter is a cubic function.  4/3 pi r^3 for volume.  Density of lead is constant among different shot.  Density = mass (lbs) / volume.

We also don't know the muzzle velocity of shot.