Game-Labs Forum

Fleet Rolls & Ship Designs. A Better Custom Battle experience

TheRealJostapo

Let me open by saying I love I am seeing so far.  Custom battles alone, given a non-AAA price would justify my purchase of this game.

The one thing that drives me crazy though, is AI ship designer.   Playing 'Britain v France 1940'?   Sometimes you'll be facing down Modernized Super Dreadnoughts (circa 1920), and other times a fleet of mega-Richelieus.  Never mind situations where the same happens with every class of ship (treaty'ish one time, mega variants the next).  It makes for a very spotty experience, where you end up with a 'cake-walk' up to a 'I don't nor can I ever, have enough bullets to win' situation.

I've noticed that there have been discussions of working a Treaty System into the AI Ship Designer.   As a developer, I think that is possible, but would open to the door to more debate...and if implemented too strictly, would do a disservice to historical 'creative interpretation' of the treaties (Japan and the UK in particular).

My proposal is this, a Fleet Rolls and Ship Designs feature.

SAVED SHIP DESIGN

• Has a name.
  • Has a class (BB, BC, etc)
  • Has a year
  • Has a nationality (This value should not preclude including one nation's ship in another nations Fleet Rolls (captured ships, lend lease, etc)
  • Has a 'Commonality' value, 1-10.   DD Leader's might have a commonality of 3, while a DD might be 10.   In the case of freaks such as HMS Furious, it might be set to 1.
  • Has all the serialized data from the ship design
  • The user can use the Ship Designer to create and Save a Ship Design
  • All the designs are saved into the same folder with a naming scheme which makes picking through them easier.   Perhaps NATIONALITY-YEAR-CLASS-Name.