Game-Labs Forum

Proposal to Improve Historical Accuracy of Fuel Burner Techs

This topic is to discuss an improvement to the generic and immersion breaking fuel options in the game. I've been chipping away at this and other topics for over two years for being a part of a mega mod of my own that strikes a balance between historical immersion and enjoyable gameplay while keeping the same number of options in the game menus as currently, but considering I'm nowhere near done enough for it to be released, much less be even put into an alpha state, I put this to the mod creators of Naval Arms Race, etc or for Game Labs to implement (if Development is still active) as an info dump from what I found in over two years of historical research immersed in ship design from 1890 to 1945/1950. More topics will be coming about other modules and discussions on their accuracy and possible improvements that can be made.

I know there are only a few ways to stretch Fuel options with the way they are currently implemented and the amount of options there are. Although there is nothing technically wrong with the options up to Oil I, we do have to address the nonsensical Oil II and Oil III Upgrade. Yes there were efficiency bonuses as technology increased, however fuel burners with a boiler setup reached their height at the same time boilers did according to my research (there is only so much fuel efficiency bonus for the better burners). So by 1930, you could burn regular fuel oil or even diesel fuel oil directly to increase efficiency and reduce smoke interference. The developers completely ignored the difference between mechanically stoked and manually stoked boilers in the early techs, leading me to rebalance this section accordingly.