Game-Labs Forum

bad weather drops you from open world into an instance?

I really like this idea, I'm new to the game and actually thought I heard this was implemented in the game in a video on youtube. I understood wrong :P

I think the point of the game is not only PVP/PVE but also about sailing. So in that sense the gameplay around it would be interested. You'd have to divert course or not and reach a certain "safe" point on the map that lets you back on the OW. It wouldn't have to be for 30mins necessary. You could aslo divert courses on the OW to avoid the storm totally, that could mean a longer travel time but no risk to your ship... An interesting tradeoff maybe?

Just my 2 cents, for what it's worth :)

Problem is, surviving a storm means doing the same thing for eight or twelve or thirty-six hours.

You'd have to have scripted events like man overboard, things breaking, wind shifts, etc. The core gameplay would just be fighting with the rudder to stay on course.

• Like 3

Problem is, surviving a storm means doing the same thing for eight or twelve or thirty-six hours.

You'd have to have scripted events like man overboard, things breaking, wind shifts, etc. The core gameplay would just be fighting with the rudder to stay on course.

That's why I was questioning.  I can't really see any actual fun gameplay being in a storm, unless they implement many different scripted events.  I just don't think it is really worth the time and effort at this point.  Anyone who sailed in sea trials on storm map trying to get that last AFK player upwind will probably understand.

Edited by Petrov

Yeah it would have to be for only 10 minutes or so and then back to open world. You would be transported to the edge of the storm in the open world once through.