Game-Labs Forum

How to win battles in your first ship - 'Yacht'

Ned Loe

Player vs NPC Guide

34dce87f110294d594ec7630a144950a.jpg

Here is a guide for those who think that Yacht is a weak ship. Yacht is a very deadly and maneuverable ship. If it is used right you will destroy and capture any ship up to Mercury size. I am a Potbs veteran and spent years in pvp. So, I decided to try same strategy in Naval Action and it works. 

Here is what I do:

1. Full speed at the enemy ship. Load Sail shot. Get close and take one enemy broadside with your ship bow.  *Remember count reload time and right before NPC fires show bow! No matter how many cannons ship has only few shots will hit and the rest will miss due to much smaller target and ship movement. (Measure length of ship in side view and measure length of a ship placed with bow towards you, that's 1/4 or less). 
2. Work sails and get them down to 50-55%, then switch to ball and destroy rudder. *Remember to always stay on enemy ships stern!
3. Once rudder is broken and sails at 50% switch to grape and rake that stern hard! :D You will see crew dies in packs 20-30 per broadside. Use 'Space' to carefully place each shot inside captains cabin in 'straight line'. 
4. You will be sailing in circles following enemy ship stern while it is trying to flip through the wind. 
5. Once crew is at 10 or less of what you have ex. (your crew - 50 then make enemy crew - 40). Prepare boarding and wait until it's at 100. Wait until enemy ship is trying to flip through the wind and at it's lowest speed. Get close from the stern side and slow down, then press G to board. 
6. When in boarding unload full broadside and attack. Fire muskets and you will have a new ship in less than a minute. 

I use fine reload mod, turn and boarding mods. I also use 12lb cannonades, with reload mod they reload almost the same as stock.