Game-Labs Forum

Observations of a New NA Captain

I just thought I would share some  initial observations on the game.  I started playing on Friday and have enjoyed the testing very much so far.

Open sea travel.  I like it way better than POTBS.  The speed might need increased as it can take a very long time to get places.  This could be a turn off to many

NPC's  and areas for specific ranks- I spend a lot of time trying to find level suitable npcs to hit.  Might need to increase the spawn rates at least for lower ranks.

NPC battles-Initially our group was hitting single or dual mobs and were pretty much left alone.  One of us is now J Lt or maybe a rank higher in a Navy Brig and we have noticed that the opposing side will have NPC's just show up either at the start of the battle or shortly after.  Is this intended?  Is this a bug?

NPC Intelligence is excellent!  Far far more challenging than POTBS ever was.

Ship combat is hard at least at low levels with very few upgrades.  Ships will not just run out with you so you really have to sail a lot.  This is good. 

Sail shot-Very difficult to demast ships.

NPC sailing characteristics-NPC's will pop repairs.  I am not sure I like this.  I understand the reality factor but there is a fine line between good game play and feeling like my time is being wasted.

NPC and Battle experience and rewards-Is there a good explanation on how this works?  It appears that the more damage you do the more exp and gold you get.  This seems to devalue the efforts of a ship that is assigned to demast.  Also is there a explanation on how loot is distributed in a group?

It appears that even though you do not have dock space in a harbor that you do get free?  for now warehouse space.

What does the red aiming line signify?  A 100 m or yard shot or just an aiming guide.

Suggestion:  Hash marks above and below the red line which would allow betting aiming for different shots.