Game-Labs Forum

AI and the future of it's ship building capability

Tousansons

Something is bothering me since I started playing at the start of Alpha. What is the point of the random (and sometimes nonsensical) AI ship design? Does it add something of value to the game other than the "easy" way to make the game create ships? Is it here to stay?

With the current AI design, naval academy can be a dice roll not only because a naval engagement is often random, but because ship design are also random for your friendlies and the enemy. The puzzle nature of the mission lose some of it's meaning if we can win due to the AI ship design doing some mistakes.

Custom battles are the same, we can't really try out cool ships if the enemy often create some unbalanced ones against them. Testing in general is also more time consuming because of that. 

How will the campaign AI work? With the current designer, is the AI able to create some sort of uniformity and "doctrine" of ships in a fleet? Can it keep the pace during 40 years? Finally, without some kind of pattern, adapting player design to fight efficiently against AI ones will be hard.

Right now, I'm still not impressed by AI design and think it is detrimental to the game, even after several patches and improvement. There is only a few cases where procedural and random add something in term of gameplay and in my opinion enemy generation is not one of them.

A solution for the long term developpement of the game is to abandon the random AI designs and settle for something simpler and easier to balance. A pool of designs per types and nations that can be expanded as the game improve, either by developpers or players input. I think this solution will add flexibility in both difficulty selection and interesting enemy ships in campaign and naval academy.

Enemy fleet could be designed to work better together in term of speed, armament, range. Like the real navies tried to do.