Game-Labs Forum

Separation of propellents, and explosives.

Hangar18

Disclaimer: this is outside my lane, I am not an expert in this discussion.

With all the talk about how some of the powders are not actually propellents, but explosive filler. Maybe it would be best to separate these into separate categories? Obviously this would require a bit of balance tweaking, but we're so early on in the process that it should not really be a concern. 

I guess the main argument for this is propellents can't influence things like damage, that's purely a product of the type, and amount of filler. It could, however influence penetration as a function of velocity. 

What say the community?

Edited by Hangar18

Should have Filler type, Propellent type and fuze type (where avaliable) for peeps to choose. Although i suppose it could make things more complex and harder for the devs to balance (maybe a sub category inside the propellent tab?)

Also different effects for the relevant stuff above so being able to figure out what is what is a lot more efficent. Plus you can have different effects for each one (even if they are slight) and sound effects too.

• Like 2

Propellants as a per ship design choice makes very little sense to me.  My general impression is that as new and improved propellants were developed, they tended to be used generally, not tailored to specific ships or missions.  The same could perhaps be said about explosive filler, but at least that entails a lot more trade-offs that make for meaningful design choices, as does the design of the shell and fuzing itself.  But combining propellants and explosive fillers into a single choice is completely nonsensical, as these were attempting to accomplish very different goals.

• Like 1

On 12/31/2019 at 2:55 AM, Hangar18 said:

What say the community?

New players with general knowledge will/does find this 'combine' component confusing, I did!