Game-Labs Forum

Supporting unit losses and arty size and othe newbie questions

grenadier98

Hi there, I'm new to this game and like it so far. But now I've learned that there are a lot of hidden mechanics in the game which makes it quite confusing for a new player.

After my first battles with each side it seems like there is a benefit if your own additional trops (not your core army) suffer more casulaties because it doesn't hurt your overall manpower pool and you can recover their weapons too. More dead - more weapons.

It seems like killing/shattering enemy units is better than taking prisoners, because it seems that you don't capture the prisoners weapons. The prisoners were traded for additinal troops in my manpowerpool, but do they traded prisoners join there side again and increase the enemies manpower pool?

I've read a lot about the scaling and decided to start a new campaign on easy with points in reconaissance to better understand this aspect. But now I've heard that the equipment is also scaling. So if you equip your units with better rifles, the enemy will also have better rifles - is this true? Is there a way to see what weapons the enemy is using?

I've also read about a maximum efficiency size for artillery-brigades, but what is the right number? 12, 14, 16?

Tanks for any help you cold give me as a new (and confused) player.

• Like 1

When playing on easy you can really just not worry about a lot of these mechanics. Scaling especially barely has an impact before Major General difficulty. 

Getting your allied troops killed to recover their weapons is an option, but not necessary.

Due to a bug, shattered units gets you more weapons, surrendered gets you more recruits and hurts the AI's army strength more. Though the army strength is also not a mechanic that needs to be worried about on easy. The UI & AI Customizations mod does fix the weapon return so there is no weapon recovery downside to capturing units.