Game-Labs Forum

Two questions from a returning veteran

Ligatorswe

Question

My clanmates can probably answer the questions i have later today, but i feel that it can be useful for the developers to read what is in the mind of a veteran in the game that has been away for more than a year and has returned.

I have some questions.

QUESTIONS

1. MISSIONS: The questions I have in mind isare. First: how do i do something like the earlier  combat missions. Combat missions was nice as a "soft" beginning of the game before you entered the pvp. You could get a rank 4 mission when you had a rank 3 ship. Or fight it out with somewhat equal NPC.s. That has changed. Apparently all ports have their kill fights with specific ranks, and when in a 5 ship you usually get fights with tier 4 or with two tier 5s.
As a returning veteran i was sunk in my first fight that I got against a higher ranking ship. Ouch! is that really as intended? I did not expect that. My guess is that other returning veterans (and newcomers) might be confused about this too.

So. To practise against NPC and get a soft start I am currently searching the oceans for NPCs, but they dont give me doubloons, except if i take mission to get a number of them. I could bring friends, but I feel it should be possible to fight against AI ships alone.

What do I do wrong? 

And the problem is that new players wont be able to stay with their nation or clanmates to find single missions on their level. You cant play class 5 missions everywhere. Neither class 4. In Tumbado, for example, there is only class 2 kill missions you can get. Ok I am a member of a rich clan and I still have BIG ships, but for a new player it must be a pain in the ass to find out where to find missions to level up. 

2. TRADE I cant figure out how to trade at all. There are basically nothing to buy in the ports. in the harbour I am in at the moment there are three yorkshire puddings to buy, and some flying fishes. That is all. How do I trade?