Game-Labs Forum

Confederate Legendary Campaign

LAVA

I was thinking about doing a Confederate Legendary Campaign and decided to step my toe in. I don't know if I have the time (it's summer and I work in the tourist industry) or inclination (I've played this game to death) but we will see how it goes.

As with my Union Legendary Campaign (which I completed), I will NOT be using the scaling technique. The minimum average Brigade in the ACW was 1,000 men, so I just can't bring myself to create 500 man brigades as I view this as fantasy.

So off we go... the first scenario Battle of Potomac Fort. This battle took me a number of times to win because it is really hard on legendary. I destroy 2 skirmisher units and 1 infantry brigade before assaulting the fort and then when I do; I capture 1 skirmisher unit and 1 infantry brigade. My defense was less stellar as one of my brigades that carry over to the camp was annihilated, but I did capture their Supply wagon and kill the commander. Overall, I received 1,000 reinforcements for the 800+ prisoners, so that more than made up for the loss of one heavily battered brigade.

Potomac Fort:

• Like 5

Defending Newport News I kill 4,925 Yankees to my 1,652 men. A rather nondescript battle, I was looking at a chance to try to turn the Blue Bellies left flank, but never felt the opportunity was right.

Newport News:

I wipe out the Blue Belly Army at 1st Bull Run. The Yanks suffer 23,909  casualties (including 2957 captured - 3 infantry brigades and a supply wagon) and lose 42 guns to my losses of 7,500 men and 12 guns. Across America folks realize this War is going to be a long one....

1st Bull Run:

• Like 3

To be honest, after my Legendary Union Campaign I was thoroughly burned out. It really takes a toll.