Game-Labs Forum

Making Money - Noob Style

Taranis

So, again, I am very new to the game.  Building a war chest has been an initial focus.  The profit spreads on trading seem too low or just too time consuming at this point.  Missions seem to be the only real way to advance in levels (and its quite the grind btw), but in terms of making money - the only real way of doing so for a new player seems to be by attacking and capturing a AI trading ships with Contraband.

I can now Capture a ship in about 10 minutes (down from over 20 in my first few attempts).  I know for many that the following will be basic - but I have already been asked a couple of times by other new players in game.

Process:

• 1) Spawn as close as you can to the target
  • 2) Set shot to Chains and crew to Firing
  • 3) Pull up along side of target - downwind (because: (1) you want to shoot at reasonably close range up into its sails and being downwind will angle your guns upward, and (2) you will want to collide with the target to force it into the wind to a stall)
  • 4) Get the target's sails down to 65%-50% (seems trying to get it down further is difficult and not worth the effort).  This usually takes 5-6 broadsides.  At this point, your own speed is about 20% sail to keep up.
  • 5) Set shot to Ball and rake the target to lower the sides armor.  3 salvos at close range of Medium 4lbs to Long 6lbs gets the side of a cutter or lynx down to 1/3rd - 1/4th (don't go too low - you don't want to sink it).
  • 6) Set shot to Grape and Crew to Boarding. 2-3 salvos of grape will augment the numeric advantage over the trader (and lower the chance that it Disengages from the first Boarding).