Game-Labs Forum

limited ammunition

Hello captains,

after a while playing now, i find it strange to see limited ammonition on double shoots and charged shoots but unlimited ammonition for the rest of the ammonition. I played another game "pirates: caribean hunt", these games are very similar but there is one major difference. The ammunition is limited to what you bought in a habour and loaded on to your ship. This works very well in my opinion. It also lays a small layer of complexity on the econemy.

What seems to be necessary is that we get some values how much powder is used in varios gun types dependend on the ammunition used. So for example would a charged shoot use more powder than a normal shoot. But i have no indepth knowledge on the differences between other variants. Furthermore we need to know what a certain ammount of projectiles and powder weight.

What this could add to the game is clear. Immersion and a way to balance very powerfull ships. Imagine you have to pay for every shoot you do on a ship like the L'ocean.

Edited by MasterBurte

4 minutes ago, admin said:

limited ammo is a good idea for first couple of trips. After 1000 battles it will get tedious to constantly refill ammo.

Im sure there is abetter reason than "not beeing tedious". Is tedious aswell to repair ships, o to recrew them, of fill them with repairs and still these are mechanics that we can find inthe game.

For the big ships the limit was not the solid ball shot ( let's not talk about other types of shot ) but the charges.

Example being the United States super frigate having to gain separation and during that respite it had to refill gunpowder charges after continuous combat and 70 broadsides.

But there are examples of engagements ending due to exhaustion of shot.

Reckon it could be addressed, especially for schooners up to light frigates.

47 minutes ago, admin said: