Game-Labs Forum

Hjalfnar fighting for the Union! (major general)

Hi guys (and girls?!),

my name is Hjalfnar and I am from Germany. I recently started my first campaign with UG:CV, got positively suprised by update 0.9 and now started anew. xD Hope you guys enjoy the videos I'll be posting here and would like to get some feedback on what I am doing. As I am completely new to the game any criticism is welcome, the same goes for the video and comment quality. I am playing on normal difficulty.

BATTLE OF PHILLIPI (tutorial mission)

DISTRESS CALL (secondary mission 1)

FIRST BATTLE OF BULL RUN (grand battle 1)

RIVER CROSSING (secondary mission 2)

CROSSROADS (secondary mission 3)

BATTLE OF SHILOH - DAY ONE (grand battle 2 part 1)

BATTLE OF SHILOH - DAY TWO (grand battle 2 part 2)

SECURE RIVER (secondary mission 4)

RENDEZVOUS (secondary mission 5)

BATTLE OF SEVEN PINES (secondary mission 6)

BATTLE OF GAINES' MILL (grand battle 3)

BATTLE OF MALVERN HILL (grand battle 4)

KETTLE RUN (secondary mission 7)

Edited by Hjalfnar_Feuerwolf

Btw, "Corps" is pronounced "Core" (the p and s are silent).  You pronounce it as one would pronounce the word "corpse", which is a dead body.  

Good job on the Distress Call.  I'm not sure if you are aware that prisoner exchanges are capped at 1,000 extra recruits for you, no matter how many you capture.

And thanks to you too, sir! Should have remembered from french lessons of course...and HoI3. And no, I did not know prisoners were capped. So would it be better to kill the rebs if I already captured more then 1000, or does capturing the soldiers yield more captured weapons as well?

Yes it's better to kill than capture more than you can convert.  But keep in mind a capture ends a fight right now.  Killing opens you up to taking further losses from other enemy units.

In general if you can capture units do it INHO.