Game-Labs Forum

True campaign game of series of tactical games?

RH Lee

I loved UG Gettysburg at first, but I was very frustrated by not being able to truly continue from one day to the next with unit strength, positions and such unchanged "overnight" so that I could fight an entire battle with my forces and positions starting the 2nd day (and so one) from where I finished the just completed day.  I asked about this repeatedly, but was told that the beginning positions in subsequent days were "close" to where I'd finished the earlier day. Sadly they weren't. I could take Little Round Top, end that phase of the battle & move to the next phase, and the blasted Yanks would be back in control of the hill.  *sigh*

While I greatly enjoyed everything else about the game (I have a masters in PolySci and History with a focus on the US in both so I'm a dedicated fan of the War for Southern Independence and have visited the Gettysburg battlefield repeatedly) but the inability to really & truly play the entire battle MY WAY with MY intra-game successes and failures eventually turned me off and I quit playing.

So - here's the question:  Is UGCW a true campaign game - or is it a series of related battles and such.  If I can shatter the invading northern army at First Manassas can I then continue north with whatever my forces are, and against whatever the North has left, perhaps to take Washington - or will I start the next day with whatever the game decides I should have?

If it's a true campaign with fully connected everything, I'm ready to buy today.  But I'd be massively disappointed if it works the same way that UGG did. So, development team, which is it?

Thanks,

RH Lee