Game-Labs Forum

Ideal Campaign Start?

kjchan

Hi all,

I'm a noob to the Ultimate General series and just wanted to pick your veteran brains as to how best to optimize your campaign (especially leading up to Shiloh).  I went for a Union quality building programme and spent most of my attention on getting rifles into the hands of my troops.  I didn't pay as much attention to pumping points into Army Organization and sheer number of units and promptly got out-attritioned in Shiloh Day 2.  My Army Order of Battle leading into Shiloh was 2 Corps, 2 Divisions apiece.  Each Division contained 3 Infantry Brigades.  Within each Corps, 1 Division had a full complement of breech loading carbine cavalry (750 men) and the other division had a 24 gun battery.  My career background was Politics.

I'd like a more successful 2nd playthrough.  So questions I have for you all are:

1) What was your optimal use of Career Points?  Seems to me that the game prioritizes having sheer numbers on your side and therefore Army Organization should be prioritized.

2) Are skirmishers worth it?  I know that historically they're important for screening and delaying...but they don't seem to do that well in this game, or I could be using them wrong.  Seems like a waste of a unit slot in the early game.