Game-Labs Forum

Hi.

I am a professional land surveyor and I would like to make an accurate map of the NA open world, including altimetry (and maybe bathymetry).

Does anyone know the system used for terraforming in the game?.

Are there a heightmap of the open world that i can use?.

I think "real" navigation is the point that makes this game different of any other. Maybe the developement team will improve the map by adding some tools like a pen, a ruler, a drawing compass, a bearing compass, etc to allow us navigate as it would be.

post-21314-0-67689600-1458641837_thumb.jpg

• Like 3

yeah the tools you mentionned were requested for a while, They said many times that you will never be able to automatically tell you position on the map, but they seem somewhat open to tools to plot your course

in the meantime you can use http://burningsail.com/

as for the reference map for heightmap, sorry I don`t have the info.

• Like 2

You can do a rudimentary form of bathymetry, but it is a very long, tedious, and manual process.  I can message you how.  But be aware, the sea floor is mostly flat.  Bathymetry is only useful in measuring shallows, deep water channels, and shoals that stop even shallow water ships.  On my map (TDA map), you can see where I have marked in places Shoals/Hidden Reef, etc, when I have come across them.  Such as the shoals off Honduras that at least used to be there, that wasn't passable by any ship.

daZwB5S.png

Altimetry isn't possible as far as I know, but I'm not a surveyor, and maybe you can come up with a way.

We have two actual in game landmass maps in Naval Action.

Siegfried's map

TDA map